Camping? More Like Glamping

During this past summer, I went camping for the first time. Not like the typical summer camp that your parents make you attend during middle school. This was camping in a tent in the good ol’ outdoors. One of my good friends invited me to go camping during the Fourth of July, and I was a bit hesitant because I am a city girl and I don’t really spend that much time camping or just embracing the outdoors. Mind you, my friend grew up in a family that always went camping and did other things that outdoorsy people love to do like fishing and canoeing lol. I agreed to go camping with her and her family because I wanted to try something new and I’m glad that I did.

We drove a couple of hours north of Minneapolis to get to the campsite and let me tell you, the town was so remote, I couldn’t believe that people actually lived here daily. We were literally in the middle of nowhere, but I knew that it was only temporary, so I couldn’t complain. The place where all of us camped was in the huge backyard of one of the family member’s house and it was situated on a private lake. Since we went during the Fourth of July, there were fireworks that were going off by the lake and it was really pretty to see at night.

Some of the daily activities that we did were pontooning on the lake, which was my first time, kayaking and canoeing, which was also my first time, cooking around the fire-pit, chatting around the fire and canvas painting, which was my favorite part. When my friend and I went on the kayak, I was definitely milking the fact that I was too scared to paddle, so my friend did all of the paddling while I was just chilling in the back hoping that I wouldn’t fall into the water. When we went canoeing though, I actually had to put in some work and actually contribute to the paddling, but it was still fun! Sitting on a canoe and being surrounded by the fresh waters is actually very soothing and relaxing.

Overall, I think I had a good experience with camping. But I guess I can’t really call it camping since I was not in a tent. I was in the camper along with my friend and her mom. I’m new to camping so I’m going to ease my way into it and stay in a camper. Lol maybe next time, I’ll be bold enough to stay in a tent straight up. The camper was really nice though. It was my first time being in one and it literally had everything inside. It was like a mini house on wheels. It was safe to say that I had a fortunate glamping experience!

Leave a Reply

