Hostel Lifestyle

Ever since I started traveling as a young adult, I’ve made it a habit to always stay in hostels whenever I can because I am a budget traveler. Not only are hostels cheaper, but they are a good environment to meet new people from all over the world. The hostels that I’ve stayed at have allowed me to come into contact with different people from all different walks of life and it really is an eye opener. I’ve stayed at a hostel in Los Angeles, Miami, and Chicago and each of the hostels have their own charms…..and flaws lol, but they all have two things in common: I always met new and awesome travelers in those hostels and I always get free breakfast every morning. I will be constantly updating this post because the more and more I travel leisurely, I will try and stay at hostels and I will post them on here and kind of give a little review and my experiences at them.hostel1

SoBe Hostel & Bar: In Miami, I stayed at the SoBe hostel and that was my first time staying in a hostel. The room that I stayed in had 12 people in it… Yes 12 people! I was surprised that they could fit that many bunk-beds in that room because one thing about hostel rooms is that they aren’t always the most spacious or glamorous lol. But the point of hostels is that it is a cheap place to sleep. Being at this Miami hostel was exciting but also annoying sometimes. Since there were a lot of people in my room, sleeping peacefully was a little hard to achieve since your roommates come in at all types of times in the night and they can be very loud but you just have to get used to it if you are in a party central location like South Beach lol. The hostel had a nice kitchen, lounge, and patio area where the guests could sit around and mingle with one another. I met so many people at the hostel from different countries and it was a really fun time. The hostel also had various night outings which was nice for newcomers like myself. SoBe hostel was in a central location in South Beach and it was very easy to walk to the beach and walk around South Beach as a whole.

Walk of Fame Hostel: In Los Angeles, different circumstances had me book this hostel at the very last minute, but nevertheless, it was still a good choice! I always get excited when I get to stay at hostels because I always get to meet new travelers. At this hostel, I stayed in a room that only had 4 people, which was a lot quieter than 12 people hahaha! Walk of Fame hostel was located right in the heart of the Walk of Fame in Hollywood, so walking to the Hollywood sign was not too far away. Speaking of the Hollywood sign, that was one of the activities that the hostel set up for their guests and it was a really fun way to mingle with the other guests. It was a long and tiring walk to the Hollywood sign, but having a big group from the hostel made the walk tolerable and enjoyable! There were also bar outings with the other guests that the hostel set up which was another fun activity to participate in. One thing that I loved about this hostel was the bathroom. The bathroom was so spacious for a hostel, it was crazy!

Holiday Jones Hostel: In Chicago, I stayed at Holiday Jones, which was in Wicker Park (a Chicago neighborhood which was 20 minutes away from downtown). Wicker Park is the more hipster, vintage, and liberal neighborhood of Chicago and the hostel’s art and decoration really stayed true to its qualities. I was very selective when I was picking out hostels to stay at while in Chicago because it was my first time that I was traveling solo without any friends. At the other hostels that I’ve stayed at, there were a lot of travelers that I met that were traveling by themselves and I always wanted to try out solo travel. And so I did. One thing that I realized about this hostel was that the guests weren’t really in the lounges talking to one another and trying to mingle with other travelers. It just seemed as though people stayed in their rooms or just stayed with who they were traveling with. Which is not a problem, but for a solo introverted traveler like myself, it was a little intimidating coming into an environment like that. But I was fortunate enough to have the kindest and warming roommates ever. I was in a room with 3 other girls and 2 of them were from the US and the other girl was from South Korea, and they were just the best roommates. Without them, I don’t think my stay at Holiday Jones would’ve been memorable. This hostel didn’t really have activities for the guests but thankfully with the roommates that I had, we planned our own activities and outings around the city and I had a wonderful time.

To be continued as I travel more and stay at more hostels…….

Leave a Reply

