Music Appraisal: Bastille Edition

Bastille has to be one of my favorite bands of all time…. all time! I especially love when they do those covers and they always come through with their own renditions of those covers and they make you forget that those covers aren’t their actual songs. I think that they fall into the alternative music genre or indie rock genre, which are genres that I have came to appreciate thanks to these guys. I’ve seen YouTube videos of them performing their songs live at various concerts and music festivals and they stay true to their sound. They are amazing performers as well as songwriters and musicians. I just love Dan’s voice and the apparent British accent that is heard whenever he sings. It just sounds so magical to me.

Bad Blood Album: There are way too many songs from this album that I really enjoy listening to. It’s hard to pick just one but if I had to choose it would probably have to be Pompeii just because this was the very first song that I heard from them and this song makes me feel better wheneverbastille_-_bad_blood_28album29 I am down. The song has a lot of meanings behind it but to me the meaning of the song represents how I feel sometimes. I feel as though we are stuck in the same routine that we do everyday in our lives and it’s the same old boring thing and we are too accustomed to try and change things up in our lives hence the line “if you close your eyes, does it almost feel like nothing’s changed at all?”. But the song kind of shows that we can change things in our life if we want to, we don’t have to live the same old boring and conservative lifestyle that we are stuck in, hence the line “how am I gonna be an optimist about this”, meaning how can we change the situation that we’re in into a better one for ourselves and how can we get ourselves out of the dry and boring world that we’re in.

Other People’s Heartache: I love the mixtapes that Bastille produces. bastille-oph-480x480They are very refreshing to listen to. My favorite song from this mixtape has to be the cover
that they did to What Would You Do. I listened to the original R&B song by City High and I honestly preferred Bastille’s version way more. They know how to make a cover song sound like one of their own original songs because of how they change it up to suit their own style of music, which includes a little bit of every kind of music genre that you could think of.

VS. (Other People’s Heartache, Pt. III): I love Axe to Grind. That’s it. Lol. Every time you get to a different part of the song, the flow just changes to something else. 1417809903bastille-300x300It sounds a bit weird how there are different parts that seem kinda randomly put together, but when you listen to the song more and more, the more the song’s variation in style glows. I love this song just because of the random parts of it.

Wild World: There are a lot of songs on this album that I don’t rock with. For some reason, I didn’t find this album to be one of my favorites. I think maybe it was because it had too many of the same kind of tracks for me. A lot of the tracks sounded like
the typical pop rock sound that a lot of bands try to do but this album didn’t seem to have a ton of memorable tracks like how Bad Blood did. But my favorite song from this album has to be a tie between Fake It and Oil on Water. I love those two songs because they are just simply done. wild_world_album_coverThe instrumentals don’t take up the whole sound and a lot of Dan’s voice is projected into the songs, which is what I love to hear.

Miscellaneous Tracks: I love the song Hangin’. I think that song never belonged to any of the albums or mixtapes but it was released and I just love the song along with the song Icarus. I like when they make songs that have a lot of symbolism in them, such as what they did with Icarus and Pompeii. I don’t know what it is about Bastille’s music, but they can put me in a good mood instantly whenever I’m feeling down, and that’s a really hard thing for musicians to do these days, so kudos to Bastille.

Leave a Reply

